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INTRODUCTION
Between quests, you’ll want to spend some time exploring whatever town you 
find yourself in. This will allow you to rest up, go shopping, or even unlock some 
hidden quests.

CITY ACTIONS
Starting at the end of Quest 2, each time you complete a quest, you and your 
companions will be given a number of “city actions” in order to explore your 
current town. To use a city action, look at the city map and choose a numbered 
location that you wish to visit as a group, then look in that city’s deck of cards for 
the matching numbered card and read it. 

For example, in the town of Vinna, Luca’s Tea Wagon is labeled as #5 on the map. 
So, to visit Luca’s Tea Wagon, you would find card V-5 in the Vinna city deck and 
read it, following any instructions.

Your city action usually ends after you visit a location and follow any instruc-
tions on the card. The card itself will tell you specifically when your city action is 
over.

Once you’ve used up your available city actions, you must go on another quest 
before receiving more. Choose from among the prompt cards you’ve acquired 
so far. This represents your limited time and funds in an abstract way, and also 
keeps you from exhausting all of a city’s secrets at once. Don’t want you to get 
bored, after all.

If the numbered card isn’t in that city’s deck, then that location 
is not available to you. You’ve either been there already and 

seen all the location has to offer, or you’ll have to try again at 
a later time. If you try going to a location only to find ut that 

you can’t visit it, this does not use up your city action.
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When you visit a shop, the card will 
instruct you to add that shop to the 
market the first time you visit it. If you 
then look in that city’s deck of cards, 
you’ll find a menu card listing the 
shop’s inventory and prices (in coin), 
as well as the actual cards that are for 
sale there. When you buy something 
from a shop, you may either add it to 
your supply of unused cards or im-
mediately swap it into a Seeker’s deck 
using the rules listed under Sleeping 
at Inns. When you visit a shop as a city 
action, you may purchase some or all 
of the shop’s inventory before your city 
action ends.

DISPOSABLE ITEMS
Some cards purchased from shops, 
such as medicines, are disposable. 
Disposable items must be returned to 
the shop’s inventory after being used 
in combat, but can be purchased again 
later.

SELLING TROPHIES AT 
BOUNTY HOUSES
At some shops, you may be able to sell 
the enemy focus tokens you’ve claimed 
in battle for coin. This will be listed 
on the shop’s menu card. Some shops 
may even offer special items in return 
for specific enemy focus tokens. It’s 
rumored, for instance, that there’s a 
shop in the city of Din’Lux that can 
make you a wyvern cloak if you give 

them a wyvern’s focus token. You 
might want to shop around a bit before 
selling all of your enemy focus tokens, 
or you might miss out on one of these 
unique items. Typically, such items 
are made from leather or other parts 
harvested from more bestial enemies. 
You’re unlikely to find a shop willing to 
make you a leather coat out of a bandit 
you’ve defeated. You may only have 
one special item crafted per visit to 
a bounty house, though you may sell 
as many focus tokens for coin as you 
wish.
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When you visit an inn as a city action, 
you will typically be offered the option 
to sleep at the inn (though you may 
have to pay coin for the privilege.)

Sleeping at an inn allows you and your 
companions to remove all lingering 
status cards (such as Exhausted cards) 
from your Seeker decks, returning 

CUSTOMIZING YOUR SEEKER DECK
When an inn allows you to customize your Seeker deck by swapping out one or 
more action cards, you must obey the following limits.

LIMIT 1: SECRET TECHNIQUES
If a card shows a Seeker’s face on it, it’s unique to 
that Seeker, and no other Seeker may add it 
to their deck.

LIMIT 2: DECK SIZE
Your Seeker deck must 
always have 18 cards, 
which includes 9 action 
cards plus their 9 linked 
boost cards (which are 
named after the action 
card they’re linked to). 
Your lantern card and 
any disposable cards in 
your deck do not count 
towards this limit. Any 
time you remove an 

action card from your deck, you must also remo- 
ve its linked boost card, and any time you add an ac-
tion card to your deck, you must also add its linked 
boost card. You can almost think of them as 2 halves 
of the same card.

LIMIT 3: COLOR 
REQUIREMENTS
Your Seeker sheet has 
a color bar down the 
center that shows the 
color requirements of 
your Seeker deck. This 
is the number of ac-
tions of each color that 
your Seeker deck must 
include, not counting 
your lantern card or any 
disposable cards.

For example, if you look 
at Asha’s Seeker sheet, 
her color bar shows that 
she must have 4 green 
actions, 3 blue actions, 
and 2 red actions in her 
Seeker deck, along with 
those actions’ linked 

them to the correct card piles on the 
board.

In addition, when you sleep at an inn, 
you will usually each be given the 
opportunity to customize your Seeker 
deck using the cards you’ve found or 
by trading cards with other Seekers.
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boost cards. An action card that is more than one 
color can count as any one of its colors for this 
limit. So, a red and blue card could count as either 
red or blue. White cards and void (colorless) cards 
can count as red, green, or blue for deck-building 
purposes.

LIMIT 4: KINFIRE
Some cards have a kin-
fire requirement shown 
at the bottom. You 
can only add 1 kinfire 
worth of cards to your 
Seeker deck for each 
kinfire token you’ve 
accumulated.

For example, if you have 
3 kinfire tokens, your 
Seeker deck may contain 

cards with a total kinfire cost no greater than 3. If 
you don’t have any kinfire tokens yet, you may not 
add any cards with a kinfire requirement to your 
Seeker deck.

Should you lose one or more of your kinfire tokens 
(which can occasionally happen), you must make 
sure that your Seeker deck is within its kinfire limit 
before embarking on your next quest, and the 
group must spend a city action to rest at an inn to 
make the adjustment if need be.

LIMIT 5: NO MORE THAN 
THREE
INSTANT CARDS
Finally, some powerful 
cards take place in an in-
stant and do not use up 
a Seeker’s action. These 
cards have the instant 
icon ( i ) on them in the 
bottom corners.

Usually, these cards 
have the “Free Action” 
ability, but not always. 
An action card that can 
be played as a boost in-
stead (therefore leaving 
your hand without using 
up your action) might 
also be marked with the 
instant icon. A Seeker’s 
deck may not contain 
more than 3 action cards 
with the instant icon ( i
) on them.
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Events are typically one-time encounters that you have while exploring a town. 
When you’re told to go to an Event, take the card out of the city deck, read it, and 
do what it says.

Another useful thing you can accom-
plish in town is unlocking new quests. 
Locations you visit may offer you a 
new quest to go on immediately, or 
you might have to solve a mystery 
or overcome an obstacle in order to 
unlock it. When you do so, the lo-
cation will tell you to take a prompt 
card. Search through that city’s deck 
to find the proper prompt card and 

add it to your available prompts. When 
you’re out of city actions, you’ll choose 
a quest from among your available 
prompt cards, discarding that prompt 
card afterwards (place it next to the 
void box, which is found in the loot 
box). Available prompts should be 
stored with the Seekers’ unused cards.
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Some locations are a spe-
cial type of shop known 
as trainers who can train 
you in special skills. They 
work like regular shops, but 
require a successful skill 
check of some sort to gain 
the new cards.

When training, you can 
attempt the skill check as 
many times as you can af-
ford for a single city action.

SOME STUFF FOR LATER
You don’t need to read any further for now, but you may wish to refer back to 
this section of the rules once you reach the city of Din’Lux.




